top of page
  • Writer's pictureAva Shaffer

5 Books to Read in Celebration of Women's History Month

Updated: Oct 27, 2021

By Ava Shaffer

It's March which means it is Women's History Month! Although it's important to read books by diverse writers during all months of the year, it doesn't hurt to get a little more feminist reading in during March. That's why I decided to highlight five great books written by female authors for you to check out this month.


1. Buy Yourself the F*cking Lilies by Tara Schuster



Synopsis

Brutally honest, often hilarious, hard-won lessons in learning to love and care for yourself from a young vice president at Comedy Central who was called “ahead of her time” by Jordan Peele.


My Review

I feel like a 5x healthier and better person just from reading this book. I’m not sure what it is about this genre (memoir/self help/comedy?) but I absolutely love it. Tara’s writing was so fresh and insightful, I felt like she was sitting right across from me giving me some great life advice. My copy of this book is chock-full of annotations, highlights, underlines, and sticky notes which is a great indicator that I devoured and loved this book. I would honestly recommend this book to anyone in my life and know that every person would at least take away one important lesson from it.


Why You Should Read It

First of all, the title is fantastic. Second of all, the messages and advice in this book will stay with you even months after you’ve finished the book. If you’re in a motivation slump and just want to feel empowered and inspired again, this is the book to read.


2. Dear Girls by Ali Wong



Synopsis

Ali Wong's heartfelt and hilarious letters to her daughters (the two she put to work while they were still in utero), covering everything they need to know in life, like the unpleasant details of dating, how to be a working mom in a male-dominated profession, and how she trapped their dad.


My Review

Similar to Ali Wong’s raunchy and honest humor, this autobiography was hilarious. Her embarrassing anecdotes, coupled with inspirational life lessons, was a perfect pairing that made this read refreshing and interesting from the start to finish. I would recommend this book to anyone who’s in need of a laugh or some light hearted motivation.


Why You Should Read It

This is one of the funniest books I’ve ever read, so if you want a good laugh mixed with motherly advice, this is the one for you. If typical self-help books feel too serious and monotone for you, I would definitely recommend this one because it breaks that mold!


3. Untamed by Glennon Doyle



Synopsis

In her most revealing and powerful memoir yet, the beloved activist, speaker, and bestselling author of Love Warrior and Carry On, Warrior explores the joy and peace we discover when we stop striving to meet the expectations of the world, and start trusting the voice deep within us.


My Review

This is the first book I’ve read that would be labeled as an inspirational memoir. I think about the lessons Glennon teaches within these pages in my day to day life and I reference this book quite a lot. I’m glad I read it because my perspective has changed on many different issues.


Why You Should Read It

There’s a lot of important discussion around this book, so reading it allows you to participate in those conversations. Glennon Doyle is also a super interesting and inspiring woman, who is great to read from during women’s history month.


4. In The Company of Women by Grace Bonney



Synopsis

Across the globe, women are embracing the entrepreneurial spirit and starting creative businesses. In the Company of Women profiles over 100 of these influential and creative women from all ages, races, backgrounds, and industries.


My Review

I felt so inspired after reading this book. Originally, I was just planning on flipping through and only reading the profiles that interested me. Well, it turns out every single profile interested me. I loved hearing the different voices from women and seeing all the various businesses and spirits encompassed in the narratives.


Why You Should Read It

Every other book on this list is read in a typical book format, so if you’re not in the mood to read a whole story or are just looking for a nice coffee table book to leaf through at your leisure, this is the book for you. It’s noncommittal and inspiring, which is fantastic to read with a busy schedule.


5. A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes



Synopsis

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, a gorgeous retelling of the Trojan War from the perspectives of the many women involved in its causes and consequences—for fans of Madeline Miller.


My Review

At first it was difficult for me to get into this book because I had a hard time keeping all the characters straight. But eventually it all started making more sense and I really enjoyed it. The writing was lyrical and beautiful and I loved the stories of the women. Heartbreaking and tragic as they were, it was refreshing to read about the women from this time rather than just the men (like most books of the Trojan War are about). Calliope had my favorite chapters and I loved her voice so much.


Why You Should Read It

Oftentimes history is overly male-centered, so reading from the women’s point of view in Greek mythology is definitely a worthwhile read. The writing is beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time, so if you want some powerful historical/mythological fiction, try out this book.



*All synopses provided by GoodReads





103 views0 comments
bottom of page